2015-05-12_Cerny_PresMonth (Autosaved)

Resolution by the California Preservation Foundation honoring Susan D. Cerny Whereas, historic preservation in communities throughout California ensures that California’s rich and diverse historic resources are identified, protected and celebrated for their history and their valuable role in California’s economy, environment, and quality of life; and Whereas, this important work depends on the dedication and commitment of local organizations and individuals to protect historic places in their community and convey their unique qualities and importance to others; and Whereas, Susan Dinkelspiel Cerny resides in Berkeley and applied her education in architecture as a passionate advocate for the protection of Berkeley’s architectural heritage and has served as a past president of the Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association, past chair of Berkeley’s Landmarks Preservation Commission and a member of the California Preservation Foundation; and Whereas, Susan has made significant contributions to her community as a leader in recognizing and protecting Berkeley’s architectural heritage as the author of publications on the architecture and culture of Berkeley, including Architectural Guidebook to San Francisco and the Bay Area (2007), Picturing Berkeley: A Postcard History (2005), and Berkeley Landmarks: An Illustrated Guide to Berkeley, California's Architectural Heritage (2001); and Whereas, Susan was a Founding Member Berkeley Historical Plaque Project which received a President’s Award from the California Preservation Foundation in 2002 and she continues to be an outspoken and effective advocate to preserve Berkeley’s architectural heritage, including the Berkeley Post Office. Now therefore, be it resolved that The Board of Trustees of the California Preservation Foundation honors Susan Dinkelspiel Cerny for her immeasurable contributions to protect the architectural heritage of Berkeley for the enjoyment of current and future generations of Californians. This the 12th day of May 2015 Cindy L. Heitzman, Executive Director